Watch For: Divergent

DIVERGENT

Along with all the other insanity released at the VMA’s on Sunday, the long-awaited trailer of Divergent premiered. The film stars one of my current celebrity favorites, Shailene Woodley, as Beatrice (Tris) Prior as a young girl fighting the system in a future dystopian society.

What’s that you say? This sounds weirdly like The Hunger Games? You are not wrong. The film is being released by Summit Entertainment (read: The Hunger Games, Twilight), and is based on a young adult novel. Woodley herself was considered for the role of Katniss before it went to Jennifer Lawrence, so I guess this was the next best thing?

Let’s take a look at the trailer before we judge too harshly.

OK, so not the best. Because I loved Jennifer Lawrence, when I heard she was going to be in The Hunger Games, I read the books beforehand when I had downtime at my job over Christmas vacation. “This isn’t so bad,” I thought. “Kind of mushy, but at least it’s an interesting concept.”

Then the movie came out, which I thought could be OK, because good actors + interesting concept = usually OK. But everyone got screwed over by terrible writing. That dialogue! Ugh! Not even Jennifer Lawrence, who has been nominated for two Academy Awards (winning one) before the age of 23 could make that dialogue sound normal.

Which obviously doesn’t matter too much, because the thing went on to become a massive phenomenon.

But that line Shailene has to spat–“Don’t try to define me”–reeks of bad dialogue. I’m hoping it’s an outlier rather than the norm, but my optimism could quickly deflate.

Should I read the book beforehand this time? Or should I just resign myself to the fact that I’m 22 years old and these movies aren’t going to seem good to me anymore?

Anyway. The movie comes out next year. Get excited, or something.

One thought on “Watch For: Divergent

Leave a Reply

