Image Moved is Getting a ‘Sports’ Section

rudy

I’ve had this blog since I was a sophomore in college, meaning its third birthday is in January. I started it because I was a longtime film fanatic and a new Film/Television major and I needed somewhere to talk about all the opinions I was developing. This blog has worked beautifully with my education, and in the last two and a half years, I’ve become so plugged into the communal and academic sides of film and television that I can’t imagine ever disconnecting.

That said, as a senior, I had the opportunity to write about something else entirely: Notre Dame football. During our magical 2012 season, I kept a column called Senior Season on the official Notre Dame football blog, Strong and True.

You may be wondering how exactly I am qualified to write about football, and the truth is, you will never get technical insight from me. I understand the game and I know our players, but you will never hear me say, “We should have done this” unless it was extremely obvious.

No, my area of sports writing is more along the lines of the “heartstring-pulling” variety, as my father would say. And although I am no longer a senior, the people in charge at Strong and True have asked me to continue my column into this year. I’m calling it “Five Foot Nothing,” which comes from a very memorable quote in the film Rudy (making it doubly applicable here).

“You’re 5 foot nothin’, 100 and nothin’, and you have barely a speck of athletic ability. And you hung in there with the best college football players in the land for two years. And you’re gonna walk outta here with a degree from the University of Notre Dame. In this life, you don’t have to prove nothin’ to nobody but yourself. And after what you’ve gone through, if you haven’t done that by now, it ain’t gonna never happen. Now go on back.”

I may not be a student anymore and I may be just the tiniest (physically), most insignificant Notre Dame fan in the country, but my heart is with that school. And I’m going back. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

