Summer Watch: ‘Graceland’

graceland1x1b

Last year, when I found myself in the desolate wasteland of summer television, I adopted a new show, The Good Wife. I had heard good things on the Internet and social media, so I dedicated some of my nights after work to catching up on the three already-aired seasons. I ended up liking it so much that I stuck with the CBS show during the year while it aired its fourth season.

This summer, I went for lighter fare. USA debuted a new show in June, Graceland, and I’ve been watching it on Hulu sporadically as the hot days of summer pass. The seventh episode airs Thursday, so I’ve had several weeks to get acquainted.

Aaron Tveit and Serinda Swan play Mike and Paige on USA's 'Graceland.'

“My eyes are up here, dude.” Aaron Tveit and Serinda Swan play Mike and Paige on USA’s ‘Graceland.’

The verdict: It’s perfect for a summer fling, but no one’s going to fall in love.

The show (supposedly based on a true story) tells the story of six young government agents (some FBI, some DEA, some other things) who live in an undercover beach house in California. So lots of surfing, playing catch in bikinis, outdoor drinking, bonfires, etc. It’s like someone asked what if the cast of The Real World was also able to take down drug lords and shoot a gun.

You’ve got green rookie Mike (Aaron Tveit), mysterious veteran Briggs (Daniel Sunjata), wisecracking young gun Johnny (Manny Montana), California hot girl Paige (Serinda Swan), dark tough girl Charlie (Vanessa Ferlito), and prickly grouch Jakes (Brandon Jay McLaren). It’s an extremely good looking cast, at the very least, and you might recognize Tveit from his role in Les Mis (or Gossip Girl). So there’s plenty of opportunity for these professionals to start hooking up, although that’s remained mostly light up until this point.

I recommend this one if you’re looking for something to have on the back burner to stave off boredom. I’m never dying for a new episode every week, but a couple days after one airs, if I don’t have something better going on and need a break, I can open it up on Hulu. Not bad for the summer heat.

Leave a Reply

