Oscar Talk: The Big Night

Oscars 2011

It’s finally here, people!

Hollywood royalty is currently walking the red carpet while “fashion experts” tear their clothes apart. Some of them are seasoned veterans who know exactly what they’re doing as they pose and deliver sound bites, and some of them are fresh and bright-eyed. Hailee Steinfeld and Jennifer Lawrence are positively giddy, their heads constantly turning at every new arrival and scream.

Also, we have the youngest hosts in history gracing the stage tonight: James Franco and Anne Hathaway. Their promotional commercials have been adorable, I think their dynamic will work great, and hopefully we can expect a super exciting and entertaining show.

There’s been a lot of talk about who is going to win. There’s some politics to it, but all of that aside, here’s who I really hope wins in the most important six of the categories.

Best Picture: The Social Network

You all know my feelings on The Kings Speech, but this is not even about my dislike of tonight’s potential frontrunner. I am wholeheartedly in love with The Social Network. I think it is a movie that speaks about our generation and to all of us as people. The story, acting, music, and direction all work together to deliver a flawless movie.

Best Director: David O. Russell

Sometimes people don’t realize what choices a director makes in a film. The Fighter was a movie in which I really noticed the shots. The boxing film has been done a million times, but Russell made choices to keep this movie fresh. The fight scenes are particularly great.

Best Actor: Colin Firth

I’m not a huge fan of The King’s Speech, but even I can’t deny Firth gave an amazing performance as King George VI, or “Bertie.” He disappeared into that character, and he really deserves this win.

Best Actress: Jennifer Lawrence

This may be the most solidly predicted category of the year. Everyone says the Oscar goes to Natalie Portman. I think Portman’s performance was great, but a little too overrated. Very few people actually saw Winter’s Bone, but Lawrence is a stellar actress. She’s very young and hasn’t paid her Hollywood dues yet, but if there were no politics in the Academy Awards, the win would go to her.

Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale

It’s a little bit of a toss up for me with this one. Everyone knows Christian Bale is going to win it (he completely dominated the role), and I do think he deserves that win. But I also just loved Jeremy Renner in The Town. Either win would make me happy.

Best Supporting Actress: Hailee Steinfeld

I don’t care that Melissa Leo took the Golden Globe–Steinfeld deserved to be nominated for Best Actress, and since she was bumped down to this category that girl should take home an Oscar at the age of 14.

*Who I don’t want to win: The King’s Speech, The Coen Brothers, Javier Bardem, Nicole Kidman, Mark Ruffalo, and Helena Bonham Carter.

2 thoughts on “Oscar Talk: The Big Night

  1. I haven’t yet seen The Fighter, but I was voting for David O. Russel too. My best friend described it to me and how much she noticed the shots and directing and how much she loved it. I was rooting for him on that recommendation alone. I definitely didn’t think Hooper was going to get it.

    • I really thought it would go to the Social Network to be honest. I can’t believe The King’s Speech robbed them of both Best Picture and Best Director. I was so disappointed.

Leave a Reply

